How do I delete or archive a Message?
Way too much correspondence to sift through, huh? What a great problem to have! And we have some tools to help you with it.
- Archive moves a conversation out of your Inbox and into your Archived folder, so you can save it for later.
- Delete removes the whole conversation from your account for good.
From inside a conversation
- Open the conversation
- Select the three dots menu at the top of the conversation. On a wide screen, you can also use the "Actions" list in the panel on the right.
- Select "Archive" or "Delete"
- If you chose "Delete," confirm by selecting "Delete Conversation"
From your inbox
- On a computer, hover over a conversation in your Inbox and select "Archive" or "Delete."
- On a phone or tablet, swipe a conversation to the left and tap "Archive" or "Delete."
To archive or delete several conversations at once, see How do I archive or delete several conversations at once?
Good to know
- To bring an archived conversation back, open it from your Archived folder and select "Unarchive."
- A new message or reaction in a conversation you archived brings it back out of Archived.
- In a group conversation, you need to "Leave" it before you can delete it. Once you leave, you can't rejoin.
Note: This only affects your side of the messages. The other person will still have the message. Just like real life, don't say something you might regret!
Can I delete or edit a single message I sent?
You can delete a picture, video, GIF, or voice message you sent for everyone in the conversation:
- Press and hold the picture, video, GIF, or voice message (or right-click it on a computer)
- Select "Delete for Everyone"
- Confirm your choice
Text messages can't be deleted, but you can edit a text message for 15 minutes after you send it:
- Press and hold the message (or right-click it on a computer)
- Select "Edit"
- Make your changes and select the check mark to save
Edited messages show "edited" so everyone knows the message changed.