How can I give a timeout to someone in my group?
A group leader has access to two type of timeouts:
- Temporary Timeout (1 day up to 12 months)
- Permanent Timeout (ban)
If you are a group leader, there's multiple ways to give a timeout to a member of your group:
- From a comment they've made (found under the "more" menu, "Give Timeout or Ban")
- From a group post they've made (found under the "..." menu, "Give Timeout or Ban")
- From the members list (found under the "Members" tab, under "moderate" on the member card)
- While deleting their discussion or comment, or rejecting their pending discussion, by clicking "Add Timeout"
When giving a timeout, you can select one or more group rules the member broke under "Reason". The member sees these rules on their timeout page, and they're recorded in the group's Activity Log.
You can't give a timeout to another group leader.
To end a timeout early, choose "Remove Timeout" from the same menus. You can see everyone who currently has a timeout on the "Members" tab by switching the filter to "Timeouts".