How did someone bypass my inbox privacy settings?
Changes to your inbox privacy only affect members you have not conversed with before. Once you've replied to someone in a one-on-one conversation, they can keep messaging you even if you change your settings later.
You can revoke consent at any time on a per-member basis within a conversation:
- Open a one-on-one conversation with that member
- Select the three dots menu at the top of the conversation. On a wide screen, "Revoke" is also at the bottom of the panel on the right.
- Select "Revoke"
- Confirm by selecting "Revoke Consent"
Revoking consent will move all existing conversations with that member to Rejected Requests. New conversations from them won't go to your Inbox anymore. Depending on your settings, they'll come in as a Message Request or can't be sent at all.
"Revoke" isn't available in group or event conversations, or for members who can always message you (like friends). If you want someone to stop contacting you completely, you can block them.
Inbox privacy settings do also not apply to:
- Friends
- Leaders of groups you're a member of
- Organizers of upcoming events you've RSVPed to
- Members you have a mutual crush with
- Members of the FetLife Team
If you have any other questions please email support@fetlife.com and we'll be happy to help!