How do the different group pre-moderation settings work?
Every group leader can update 4 group settings for pre-moderation. When a new discussion matches one of the checked settings, it ends up as a pending discussion and needs to be approved by a group leader first.
Here's what each one of them mean:
First time poster
When someone creates a discussion in the group for the first time, their discussion will end up as a pending discussion and will need to be approved by a group leader first. Once a discussion of that member is approved, future group discussions of the member in that specific group no longer need to be pre-moderated.
Potential commercial promotion / advertisement
Group discussions created by members that potentially advertise commercially on FetLife will require pre-moderation.
Group discussion contains a link
If a group discussion contains a URL, whether it's a FetLife link or an external link, it will require pre-moderation.
Group discussion contains a picture
If a group discussion contains a picture, it will require pre-moderation. This setting is only useful if your group allows pictures in discussions. Read more in How do I change my group's discussion settings?
Notes:
- Discussions from members on the pre-moderation list always need approval.
- Discussions posted by group leaders are never pre-moderated.
- Some discussions may still be pre-moderated if they appear fake or spam, even when all moderation settings are disabled.
- When you review a pending discussion, you'll see why it was held, for example "First time poster" or "Group discussion contains a link".