Skip to main content

What does a block do?

When a block is in place between 2 members, both members won't be able to see any activity from each other, including but not limited to:

  • Profile
  • Comments
  • Pictures
  • Videos
  • Status Updates
  • Wall posts
  • Etc.

There are only 4 places where you can see activity from someone you blocked or blocked you:

  • Group Discussions posted by another member
  • Group conversations
  • Event RSVPS
  • Suggested edits

Putting a block in place also modifies all past exchanges between you and the other member. That means it:

  • Archives all private messages (does NOT include group conversations)
  • Deletes any pictures/videos in which you’ve tagged each other
  • Remove any comments, loves, superloves, and bookmarks on each other’s profiles
  • Removes the friendship and/or following
  • Removes all relationships listed with each other
  • Removes you from each other’s community lists

If the blocked person makes an alternate profile to contact you around that block, that's called a "sock puppet". Notify the FetLife Caretakers, and they'll investigate. If discovered, the sock puppet is deleted and the member warned.